top of page

Forum inaugural

6-8 février 2019. Dix-neuf conseillers se sont réunis à l'Université d'Oxford pour le Forum inaugural du réseau des économistes en chef des gouvernements. Lire le rapport complet ici.

network_map transparent bg.png

The Chief Economists of Government (CEoG) network comprises 38 chief economic advisers from 38 African countries, plus a support roster of former government advisers and chief economists.

The initiative aims to strengthen knowledge-based policymaking in African countries to promote economic growth and transformation. To achieve this goal, the initiative convenes and supports a peer network of chief economic advisors to Presidents and Prime Ministers.

L’initiative des économistes en chef des gouvernements (CEoG) vise à renforcer l’élaboration de politiques fondées sur la connaissance dans les pays africains afin de promouvoir la croissance et la transformation économique. Pour atteindre cet objectif, elle réunit et soutient un réseau de pairs composé de conseillers économiques en chef des présidents et des premiers ministres.

 

L’initiative CEoG s’articule autour de trois piliers d’activité :


Soutenir un réseau régional de conseillers économiques en chef

L'initiative a mis en place un nouveau réseau régional de conseillers économiques en chef auprès des présidents et des premiers ministres pour l’entraide et l'apprentissage entre pairs. Les activités organisées à la demande des conseillers, comprennent des rencontres physiques et virtuelles du réseau pour discuter de thèmes clés sur le développement et la transformation de l'Afrique avec des experts externes et d'anciens conseillers économiques en chef.

 

Soutien aux activités de développement des compétences et des connaissances

Par le biais d’interventions telles que la formation, les ateliers et séminaires régionaux et sous-régionaux et les échanges entre pairs pour le partage de connaissances et d’expériences entre pays, fondés sur le réseau de pairs, l’initiative vise à proposer une nouvelle approche du renforcement des capacités des conseillers économiques. 

 

Soutien aux équipes ou aux unités d'économistes en chef nouvelles et existantes


L'initiative travaille avec des partenaires pour aider les pays à concevoir et à mettre en place des une équipes due conseillers économiques en chef dans les pays et vise à renforcer ces équipes dans les pays où elles existent déjà. L’initiative soutient ces équipes en leur fournissant les outils, les données et les compétences nécessaires pour fournir des analyses et des conseils en temps voulu pour faciliter la prise de décisions.

CEoG map.JPG

The Chief Economists of Government (CEoG) network comprises over 40 chief economic advisers from more than 40 African countries, plus a support roster of former government advisers and chief economists.

The initiative aims to strengthen knowledge-based policymaking in African countries to promote economic growth and transformation. To achieve this goal, the initiative convenes and supports a peer network of chief economic advisors to Presidents and Prime Ministers.

Countries with an advisor in the CEoG network. The network is open to 48 sub-Saharan African countries.

L’initiative des économistes en chef des gouvernements (CEoG) vise à renforcer l’élaboration de politiques fondées sur la connaissance dans les pays africains afin de promouvoir la croissance et la transformation économique. Pour atteindre cet objectif, elle réunit et soutient un réseau de pairs composé de conseillers économiques en chef des présidents et des premiers ministres.

 

L’initiative CEoG s’articule autour de trois piliers d’activité :


Soutenir un réseau régional de conseillers économiques en chef

L'initiative a mis en place un nouveau réseau régional de conseillers économiques en chef auprès des présidents et des premiers ministres pour l’entraide et l'apprentissage entre pairs. Les activités organisées à la demande des conseillers, comprennent des rencontres physiques et virtuelles du réseau pour discuter de thèmes clés sur le développement et la transformation de l'Afrique avec des experts externes et d'anciens conseillers économiques en chef.

 

Soutien aux activités de développement des compétences et des connaissances

Par le biais d’interventions telles que la formation, les ateliers et séminaires régionaux et sous-régionaux et les échanges entre pairs pour le partage de connaissances et d’expériences entre pays, fondés sur le réseau de pairs, l’initiative vise à proposer une nouvelle approche du renforcement des capacités des conseillers économiques. 

 

Soutien aux équipes ou aux unités d'économistes en chef nouvelles et existantes


L'initiative travaille avec des partenaires pour aider les pays à concevoir et à mettre en place des une équipes due conseillers économiques en chef dans les pays et vise à renforcer ces équipes dans les pays où elles existent déjà. L’initiative soutient ces équipes en leur fournissant les outils, les données et les compétences nécessaires pour fournir des analyses et des conseils en temps voulu pour faciliter la prise de décisions.

network initiatves

Activités du réseau

Profils des conseillers 

Le réseau publie un entretien approfondi avec un conseiller différent tous les mois. L'interview présente le réseau aux conseillers et relève des problèmes politiques spécifiques pour lesquels ils ont eu des défis et des succès.

Experts invités

L’initiative CEoG a le privilège d’avoir dans son réseau plusieurs anciens conseillers à la présidence et autres experts en économie. Leur expérience va du monde universitaire aux instituts de politique internationale et le groupe comprend un ancien gouverneur de banque centrale. Ensemble, ils constituent un ensemble important d’expertises et d’expériences de conseil de politique de haut niveau. Ces experts sont disponibles pour visiter les pays des conseillers lors pour de courtes missions afin de fournir un appui au conseiller économique en chef et à son équipe.

Echange entre conseillers 

Le réseau de conseillers économiques en chef des présidents contient une expertise précieuse. Les conseillers peuvent apprendre les uns des autres et intégrer les meilleures pratiques et les leçons des pays pairs dans leurs rôles. Le secrétariat du CEoG soutient ce processus en fournissant une aide financière et une aide à la coordination aux paires de conseillers qui souhaitent se rendre mutuellement dans les pays. 

knowledge tools

Outils de connaissance

Graphs

DONNÉES et CEoG DATA STORIES   

Le secrétariat de CEoG crée des visualisations de données compréhensives sur des thèmes politiques importants pour le réseau. Le Secrétariat fournit également  un accès aux outils et sources de données, ainsi qu’un appui pour la réalisation d’analyses pertinentes et en temps voulu.

Open Book

DOCUMENTS DE RÉFÉRENCE

Le secrétariat du CEoG prépare régulièrement des documents de travail sur des sujets pertinents pour le travail des conseillers, tels que le financement des infrastructures ou les avancées technologiques.

Data Cloud

RECRUTER DES ECONOMISTES (PhD) AFRICAINS 

La Banque mondiale tient à jour une base de données d’économistes africains qualifiés, qui pourraient constituer un apport précieux au personnel d’un économiste en chef.

 

bottom of page

COVID-19 Resources

April 2020 In the coming weeks and months, the CEoG network will regularly share relevant news, analysis and data focused on African policy questions during the COVID-19 crisis. Read more here...

The Chief Economists of Government (CEoG) network comprises 38 chief economic advisers from 38 African countries, plus a support roster of former government advisers and chief economists.

The initiative aims to strengthen knowledge-based policymaking in African countries to promote economic growth and transformation. To achieve this goal, the initiative convenes and supports a peer network of chief economic advisors to Presidents and Prime Ministers.

The CEoG initiative is structured around three pillars of activity:

Supporting a regional network of chief economic advisors

The initiative has established a new regional network of chief economic advisors to presidents and prime ministers for peer support and learning. Demand-driven activities include convening the network both physically and virtually to discuss key themes on African development and transformation with external experts and former chief economic advisors.

Support to skills and knowledge building activities

Through interventions such as training, regional/sub-regional workshops and seminars, and peer exchanges for both cross-country knowledge and experience sharing, built on top of the peer network, the initiative aims to deliver a new approach to capacity building for economic advisors.

Support to new and existing chief economist teams or units

The initiative works with partners to assist countries in the design and establishment of dedicated chief economic advisory teams and aims to strengthen such teams in countries where they already exist. The initiative supports these teams with the tools, data, and skills to provide timely analysis and advice to support decision-making. 

more...

The Chief Economists of Government (CEoG) network comprises over 40 chief economic advisers from more than 40 African countries, plus a support roster of former government advisers and chief economists.

The initiative aims to strengthen knowledge-based policymaking in African countries to promote economic growth and transformation. To achieve this goal, the initiative convenes and supports a peer network of chief economic advisors to Presidents and Prime Ministers.

Countries with an advisor in the CEoG network. The network is open to 48 sub-Saharan African countries.

The CEoG initiative is structured around three pillars of activity:

Supporting a regional network of chief economic advisors

The initiative has established a new regional network of chief economic advisors to presidents and prime ministers for peer support and learning. Demand-driven activities include convening the network both physically and virtually to discuss key themes on African development and transformation with external experts and former chief economic advisors.

Support to skills and knowledge building activities

Through interventions such as training, regional/sub-regional workshops and seminars, and peer exchanges for both cross-country knowledge and experience sharing, built on top of the peer network, the initiative aims to deliver a new approach to capacity building for economic advisors.

Support to new and existing chief economist teams or units

The initiative works with partners to assist countries in the design and establishment of dedicated chief economic advisory teams and aims to strengthen such teams in countries where they already exist. The initiative supports these teams with the tools, data, and skills to provide timely analysis and advice to support decision-making. 

more...

 

NETWORK ACTIVITIES

Advisor Profiles

The network publishes an in-depth interview with  a different advisor every few weeks.  The interview introduces advisors to the network and highlights specific policy issues where they have had challenges and successes.

Visiting experts

The network is privileged to count former presidential advisors and academic experts amongst its members. These people have volunteered to be a resource for current advisors and are available to provide support on specific policy issues.  

Advisor exchange

The network of presidential chief economic advisors contains valuable expertise. Advisors can learn from each other and integrate best practices and lessons from peer countries into their roles. The CEoG Secretariat supports this process by providing funding and coordination assistance for pairs of advisors who wish to visit each other's countries.

 

KNOWLEDGE TOOLS

CEoG DATA STORIES

The CEoG Secretariat creates  comprehensive data  visualisations of policy themes that are important to the network. The Secretariat also facilitates access to data tools and sources, as well as support in generating relevant and timely analysis.

BACKGROUND PAPERS

The CEoG Secretariat periodically prepares background papers on topics that are relevant to the work of the advisors, such as infrastructure financing or technological leapfrogging.

RECRUIT AFRICAN PhD ECONOMISTS

The World Bank maintains a database of qualified African economists who may be valuable additions to the staff of a chief economist.

 

© 2020 by African Chief Economists of Government Initiative